Check Out List Of 11 African Countries That Have Been Banned From UK Due To Covid-19


The United Kingdom (UK) in a bid to reduce the spread of the virus in the country has listed some African countries that won’t be allowed into the country for fears of having the deadly coronavirus.

As per the report gotten by Mynewsghana, the list includes; Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Eswatini, Zambia, Malawi, Lesotho, Mozambique, and Angola – as well as Seychelles and Mauritius,” UK’s Department for Transport said.

READ  Stonebwoy To Hold A Virtual Concert In Celebration Of The 1 Year Anniversary Of Angloga Junction

In a statement they revealed that in order to prevent the spread of the new virus variant the country however announced an indefinite travel ban from the 11 Southern African countries without exemptions.

Israel (and Jerusalem) would be removed from the list of travel corridors for England and people arriving from January 9 from Botswana, Israel (and Jerusalem), Mauritius or Seychelles would need to self-isolate.

Dr Matshidiso Moeti, WHO Regional Director for Africa in a statement revealed saying;

The emergence of new COVID-19 variants is common. However, those with higher speed of transmission or potentially increased pathogenicity are very concerning. Crucial investigations are underway to comprehensively understand the behaviour of the new mutant virus and steer response accordingly.